The Physiology Department is made up of 124 faculty members, of whom 104 are faculty full-time, including 26 tenured/ tenure stream faculty. The Department has 42 primary faculty members and 61 cross appointees with full status. Another 11 cross appointees have emeritus status only (no graduate student status) and there are 7 Adjunct professor with limited status (provide some teaching and research collaboration). There are also 10 professors Emeriti and 2 retired faculty who continue in an active research capacity (hold CIHR or other grants and run active laboratories).

In 2005, the Department underwent an External Review by Drs. J. Geiger and W. Walz.  Please see: The Departmental report, the report of the external reviewers as well as the Chair's response.